Florida HB319/SB410: The Helen Gordon Davis Fair Pay Act


#womensMARCHflorida MARCH 13: CALL TO ACTION: Tell your Florida Senators and Representatives to END THE GENDER PAY GAP NOW!
On Tuesday, Women's March Florida will be organizing a network of rallies across the state in support of Florida HB319/SB410: The Helen Gordon Davis Fair Pay Act. Today, we ask you to CALL to show your support. These bills would specify which factors employers can use to decide to pay employees differently, such as education or experience based on seniority or merit, and would prohibit employers from screening job applicants based on prior wages. It would also bar employers from taking retaliatory action against an employee who discloses their wages to a coworker and prohibits employers from discrimination towards employees based on their sex or gender identity.
It is time for Women's March Florida to take our message from the Women's Strike on March 8 and turn it into ACTION! This bill is a great step towards greater economic justice and equality for women across Florida.
STEP ONE: Call any/all of the House Careers & Competition Subcommittee Members and Leadership to get HB 319 heard!
Encourage your local Representative to co-sponsor as well!
Sample script: Hello my name is _________ and I am a member of Women's March Florida. I am calling to ask if you plan on supporting HB319: The Helen Gordon Davis Fair Pay Act. I find it unacceptable that in 2017 women are still paid less then men for the same work. Our entire economy is hurt if an entire group of Floridians are not being paid for the quality of their work, especially the single mothers and families stricken by illness or unemployment or tragedy that relies on a female breadwinner. Please vote YES on HB319.
Speaker Corcoran (850) 717-5000 Richard.Corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov Chair Diaz (850) 717-5116 Jose.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov
Chair Beshears (850) 717-5007 Halsey.Beshears@myfloridahouse.gov Vice Chair Trumbull (850) 717-5006 Jay.Trumbull@myfloridahouse.gov Democratic Ranking Member Ausley (850) 717-5009 Loranne.Ausley@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Ahern (850) 717-5066 Larry.Ahern@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Alexander (850) 717-5008 Ramon.Alexander@myfloridahouse.gov Rep. Fine (850) 717-5053 Randy.Fine@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Gonzalez (850) 717-5074 Julio.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov Rep. Gruters (850) 717-5073 Joe.Gruters@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Hardeman (850) 717-5108 Roy.Hardemon@myfloridahouse.gov Rep. Harrison (850) 717-5063 Shawn.Harrison@myfloridahouse.gov Rep. Jacquet (850) 717-5088 Al.Jacquet@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. La Rosa (850) 717-5042 Mike.LaRosa@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Miller (850) 717-5072 Alexandra.Miller@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Renner (850) 717-5024 Paul.Renner@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Silvers (850) 717-5087 David.Silvers@myfloridahouse.gov
STEP TWO: Call any/all of the Senate Governmental Oversight & Accountability Members and Leadership to get SB 410 heard!
Encourage your local Senator to co-sponsor as well!
Sample script: Hello my name is _________ and I am a member of Women's March Florida. I am calling to ask if you plan on supporting SB410: The Helen Gordon Davis Fair Pay Act. I find it unacceptable that in 2017 women are still paid less then men for the same work. Our entire economy is hurt if an entire group of Floridians are not being paid for the quality of their work, especially the single mothers and families stricken by illness or unemployment or tragedy that relies on a female breadwinner. Please vote YES on SB410.
President Joe Negron (850)487-5025 Negron.Joe@flosenate.gov
Chair Dennis Baxley (850)787-5012 Baxley.Dennis@flsenate.gov
Vice Chair Frank Artiles (850)787-5040 Artiles.Frank@flsenate.gov
Senator Bill Galvano (850)787-5021 Galvano.Bill@flsenate.gov
Senator Denise Grimsley (850)787-5026 Grimsley.Denise@glsenate.gov
Senator Kevin Rader (850)787-5029 Rader.Kevin@flsenate.gov
Senator Darryl Ervin Rouson (850)787-5019 Rouson.Darryl@flsenate.gov
STEP THREE: Find your local FL Senator and Rep and tweet the following (copy/paste): 
(@___(fill in your senator or rep)____: We are @WMW_Florida HEAR OUR VOICE: it is past time for FL women to receive equal pay for equal work. Support HB319/SB410 NOW! (if you have room, tag your local newspaper)
STEP FOUR: Attend an Equal Pay Rally in your area on Tuesday March 14! There are events in Tallahassee, Orlando, West Palm Beach, St. Augustine, Ft. Lauderdale, and Miami. Contact your local chapter for more details!

Women's March FL Keys Chapter